The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck (Sarah Knight)

So this book uses the “f-word” a lot. If that bothers you, no judgment, but this probably isn’t the book for you. Or maybe it’s exactly the book you need to read right now (so you can learn how to not give a f*ck about it). I don’t know your life. While I’m not typically someone who swears (out loud), I will be using that word sans asterisk from now on so again, if that bothers you, go check out some of my other reviews instead. 🙂

Title – The Life Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck: How to stop spending time you don’t have with people you don’t like doing things you don’t want to do

Author – Sarah Knight

Page count – 192

Goodreads rating – 3/5 (liked it)

This book is a parody of the popular self-help book The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up. That one is still on my to-read shelf so I can’t make any direct comparisons. All I can tell you is that this book was both helpful and funny.

The author takes the reader through the act of creating a “Fuck Budget” (those things/activities/people on which you do want to spend your time, energy, and/or money) and what she calls the NotSorry Method. This Method has two steps: 1) Deciding what you don’t give a fuck about, and 2) Not giving those fucks anymore. The secret here is how to properly follow your Fuck Budget without being mean to the people involved in the things you no longer give a fuck about. Not giving a fuck about what other people think is a key ingredient to the NotSorry Method, but there’s a difference between not caring about people’s opinions and completely disregarding their feelings (spoiler: the latter makes you a jerk).

The passage below is referencing the author’s wedding plans and the seating chart she decided not to do:

“I’d been pushed to my breaking point. Yet I’d also seen a silver lining in that abandoned seating chart. I knew that seating charts were supposed to matter to me, but they didn’t. Instead of putting that feeling of obligation ahead of my own personal preference, I’d just decided not to give a fuck and let the butts land where they may. And did anyone complain to the blushing bride? No, they did not.” (p. 10)

Leave a Reply

