The Deathly Hallows (#15/50)

I remember when I first bought this book. We were driving down to Lake of the Ozarks during summer vacation. It was early in the morning the day this book was released so my sister and I made our parents stop at Walmart so we could each buy a copy. I read that thing the entire way there and into the night, and I was done before the end of the next day. It’s not my favorite book in the series, but I appreciate it in a different way because it is the final installment of a truly magical literary journey. No matter how long it’s been, reading this series again feels like returning home. (After all this time? …Always.)

Title – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Author – J.K. Rowling

Page count – 759

**Minor spoilers for the plot (and if you haven’t read previous books)**

This book takes us along Harry’s journey to find and destroy Voldemort’s Horcruxes. His friendships with Ron and Hermione – his companions on this quest – are tested, and we learn a great deal of backstory about Dumbledore, Voldemort, and Snape. The Hallows referenced in the title come from a story called “The Tale of the Three Brothers.” It is a fable about three brothers who are each gifted a magical object by Death – an all-powerful wand, a resurrection stone to recall loved ones from the dead, and Death’s own cloak of invisibility.

While the movies are better than most book-to-movies are, I still can’t believe how much they managed to leave out (especially considering this installment was made into two films). I understand some things simply don’t translate well from the written word to a visual depiction, but how hard would it have been to include Kreacher’s role in this story and, um, Lupin and Tonks’ entire relationship?? I will say, though, the movie scene where Hermione reads aloud “The Tale of the Three Brothers” has exquisite animation.

For my favorite quotes, I’m going to include some nuggets of wisdom from the second-to-last chapter:

(Dumbledore, in response to Harry declaring he would have made a great Minister of Magic):

“I am not so sure. I had proven, as a very young man, that power was my weakness and temptation. It is a curious thing…perhaps those who are best suited to power are those who have never sought it. Those who, like you, have leadership thrust upon them, and take up the mantle because they must…”

(Dumbledore, after Harry asks if their encounter/conversation was real or just happening in his head):

“Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?”

Leave a Reply

