The No Complaining Rule (#11/50)

This wasn’t a bad book necessarily, but I don’t know that I would recommend it to just anybody. My hopes were really high because I read another book by this same author called The Energy Bus. It was recommended to me by a co-worker, and if I were ever in a management-type position (not my cup of tea, but it doesn’t hurt to be prepared), that book is one I would use to craft my management style. This book? Meh. The general premise perhaps. Still doesn’t mean I think reading it was worth my time.

Title – The No Complaining Rule: Positive Ways to Deal with Negativity at Work

Author – Jon Gordon

Page count – 131

I’m not going to relate this too much to my personal life because it is usually not wise to talk about work stuff on the internet. All I will say is read between the lines and message me directly if you’re curious.

The general premise of this book is that mindless complaining (that is, complaining with no desire to find a solution) is unproductive, brings down morale, and reduces both individual and company performance. I would agree with this statement. There are two main reasons I didn’t care for this book, as much as I appreciate the general premise: the writing style and story around which the book is based is simplistic, cheesy, and – at times – a bit patronizing; and (following the simplistic delivery, which makes implementing this strategy seem ridiculously easy) this business strategy only works if implemented in a “top-down” format. Unless management sees complaining as a problem and wants to make a company-wide culture change, this strategy will not work. An individual, however, can apply the “No Complaining Rule” on a more micro level to their own life, which– for me, at least – is the redeeming quality in this book.

The most worthwhile bits can be boiled down to the following passage:

“[She] reasoned that an employee should never complain to someone who is not able to help with a solution. Mindless complaining serves no purpose and only sabotages morale and performance. Mindless complaining cultivates negativity and adversely affects the complainer and the person being complained to.”

Leave a Reply

