Notorious RBG (#3/50)

Well, kids…I’m not sure I’m going to make it to fifty books by the end of the year. Looking at my stack of “still need to read” books, I see substantial page counts, tough topics, and some books that I simply don’t want to rush through just for the sake of reaching a certain number. But it’s ok. If I can still hit at least 30, I will be happy. If I can get to 40, even better!

Anyhow, here is book number three:

RBG book

Title – Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Authors – Irin Carmon & Shana Knizhnik

Page count – 195

So it’s not the longest book in the world, but it was still a very fun read. This was one of my many Amazon book purchases (I have a problem. Seriously. No one should be allowed to do late-night Amazon shopping.), and I couldn’t wait for it to get here! I was not disappointed. Not only is it a gorgeously-constructed book – creamy smooth cover, glossy pages – but it is filled with personal photos of RBG, annotated court documents and dissents, even a description of the “Notorious RBG workout.” I knew RBG was a woman to be admired, but it was interesting to read about her earlier, pre-Supreme Court life and how she worked her way up through the judicial system.

Many of you who know me personally know that I am all about feminism. And too often, people seem to think that being a feminist is all about promoting women’s rights at the expense of men. RBG – through the cases she argued, dissent opinions she wrote, and her relationship with her husband of nearly 60 years – demonstrated that is not the case, at all. Prohibiting discrimination based on sex/gender not only allows women access to all the rights and opportunities men have always enjoyed, it prevents men from being discriminated against for things like spousal benefits and family leave from work. So I’ll repeat it for the ones in the back…Feminism helps everybody. 🙂

For a favorite quote, I’ll pick what RBG said in her dissent regarding the gutting of the Voting Rights Act: “Throwing out preclearance when it has worked and is continuing to work to stop discriminatory changes is like throwing away your umbrella in a rainstorm because you are not getting wet.”

Leave a Reply

