The One With the Fifty Book Challenge

I heard from a couple of my favorite Youtube vloggers – Rosianna Halse Rojas and Hannah Witton – about this thing called the “Fifty Book Challenge.” And I’m not usually one to do New Year’s Resolutions, but the timing was just so perfect. So…let it commence! On January 1st, 2016, I will begin this Challenge and let you know how it goes. Here are The Rules:

  1. No more than half of the books can be re-reads. While there are some books that need only be read once, I firmly believe there are other books that must be read more than once to properly absorb the message. At the same time, this is a Challenge, and what is more challenging to one’s mind than introducing it to new ideas?
  2. At least half of the books should be by women, and at least a quarter of the books should be by people of color. (Obviously, there will end up being some overlap when the author is a woman of color.) Telling stories about and from diverse perspectives matters; this is how you come to know and understand people who are different from yourself. (WNDB) In the United States, at least, the literature that populates our school curriculums, award lists, and “Top 10” lists is largely male and white. I am going to be intentional about expanding beyond that.

 

There it is. I’ve put the commitment into published words for the world to see, so there’s no backing out now.

I may change this as I go along, but I think I’ll structure each post into three parts: Overview/Summary, My Opinion, and a Favorite Quote. I’ll do my best to avoid spoilers, but if there’s anything I must include for my commentary to make sense, I’ll clearly mark it (SPOILER ALERT!!!).

My first book is going to be Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (J.K. Rowling). I know it’s probably not a new one for you, but it’s been SO long since I’ve read them, that it’s high time for a refresher. Prepare yourselves for plenty of puns. This selection will help me with Rule #2 but put quite a dent in Rule #1, seeing as there are seven books, and I’ve read them all. (If you have not read the Harry Potter books, you need to climb out from under your rock, and go do that now. I’ll wait right here until you’re done…)

Leave a Reply

